Committees > Legislative & Emerging Issues


The mission of the Legislative & Emerging Issues Committee

  • Monitor local, state and federal issues of importance to the OGFOA membership and public finance profession.
  • Function as source of information to the OGFOA Board of Directors and committees in setting priority issues for education, outreach, and research.
  • Function as a source of information (but not as an advocate) to lobbying groups (LOC, AOC, SDAO, SBOA) on governmental finance issues/concerns.
  • Promote the active participation Legislative & Emerging Committee members as conference speakers and contributors to other outreach efforts including newsletters, website postings, “call for action” emails and special projects.
  • Coordinate efforts with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.
  • Serve as a pool of subject matter experts to review or become involved with policy issues as requested by the Board or as otherwise appropriate.
  • Coordinate with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.
  • Develop and implement communication mechanisms to quickly disperse information to OGFOA members when an emerging issue needs timely information sharing.

Committee Activities

  • Quarterly conference calls coordinated by the chairs:
  • Meet at the annual Fall and/or Spring Conferences (in lieu of quarterly conference call).
  • Participate on other committees particularly Education, Accounting Standards, Information Technology, and Developing Professionals.
  • Regular communication to the Board of Directors to help set policy priorities.
  • Regular communication with the OGFOA President and Board Liaison for any matters requiring more urgent attention.


Committee Co-Chairs      
Nancy Brewer City of Corvallis  
Carol  Samuels Piper Jaffray & Co.  
Board Liasion      
Tod Burton Tualatin Valley Water District


    Agency Email Expiration
Carla Atwood Water Environment Services 2020
Linda Carter City of Pendleton 2017
Lance Colley City of Roseburg 2017
Courtney Dausz Mersereau Shannon 2017
Roger Dawes Washington County 2017
Chris Fick Multnomah County 2017
Debra Grabler Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue 2017
Don Hudson City of Tualatin 2017
Wendy Johnson League of Oregon Cities 2017
Jason Link Klamath County 2017
Wayne Lowry Deschutes County 2017
Marc Marc Gonzales Clackamas County 2017
Gulgun Mersereau Hawkins, Delafield & Wood 2017
Rob Moody Talbot Korvola & Warwick 2017
Chris Reynolds Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe 2017
Summer Sears City of Hood River  2017
Heidi Starks West Slope Water District 2017
Monica Steele Clatsop County 2017
Jeff White Marion County 2017
Sharon Wojda City of Bend 2020
Matt Zook City of Newberg 2020